

14th Hole at Cobbs Creek GC

2008 PPGA Better-Ball Championship Results

Limerick, **PA** - The team of Roger Stone, Downingtown CC and David Kimbley of Spring Hollow GC posted a 4-under par score of 68 in the blustery conditions at Turtle Creek GC. The weather was the story early as competitors teed off in 40 degree temperatures with 30 mph wind gusts which made club selection difficult throughout the day. But Kimbley ad Stone grabbed the headlines late in the day as their score of 68 bested the teams of Mark Czerniakowski and Steve Owens, Jr. and Tom Timby and Frank Filippo who each posted 3-under par scores of 69.

The team of Bob Weisbecker and David Atkinson set the pace early with a 2-under par 70 in the third group out. That score was matched a few groups later by 2007 Senior Player of the year Buck Jones and his partner Jim Yenser, who are also the defending Philadelphia Better-Ball champions. That score looked for a while like it could hold up until Czerniakowski and Owens and Timby and Filippo posted their 3-under rounds.

Stone and Kimbley played the front nine in even par with 2 bogies and 2 birdies but blistered the back nine with a 4-under par score of 32 to take the championship. The winning duo came to the final hole knowing they needed birdie to clinch the victory and avoid a 3-way playoff. They managed to do just that with a birdie to seal the win. The champions pulled even with the leaders on the 16th hole with a birdie and also birdied the 10th and 14th holes against no bogies on the final nine.

In all 70 teams competed this year for the Philadelphia Publinks Better-Ball Championship and as usual Turtle Creek provided a fair yet challenging venue.

PPGA Better-Ball Championship

1	Roger Stone, Downingtown GC - David Kimbley, Spring Hollow GC	36-32	68
2	Mark Czerniakowski, Blue Bell CC - Steve Owens, Jr., J C Melrose	33-36	69
2	Tom Timby, Bucks County GC - Frank Filippo, Makefield Highlands GC	35-34	69
4	Bob Weisbecker, Meadowbrook GC - David Atkinson, Unaffiliated	36-34	70
4	Buck Jones, Linfield National GC - Jim Yenser, Honeybrook GC	36-34	70
6	Michael Brown, John F. Byrne GC - Jeffrey Huntzinger, North Hills GC	36-35	71
7	Luke Peters - Travis Gahman, Unaffiliated	36-36	72
7	Brian Fisher, Jeffersonville GC - Jeff Nocella, Unaffiliated	36-36	72
9	Dave Shields - Dan Osada, Walnut Lane GC	37-36	73
10	Pat Sullivan, Meadowbrook GC - Chris Anthony, Cobbs Creek GC	35-39	74
10	Doug Arnold, Honeybrook GC - Mark Graham, Hickory Valley GC	36-38	74
10	Jake Suplicki - James Austin, Five Ponds GC	39-35	74
10	Luis Diaz - Joe Tiberi, Rancocas GC	38-36	74
10	Richard Umani, GC at Glen Mills - Chris Terebesi, Chester Valley GC	38-36	74
10	Marc Delong - Martin Dorminy, Golden Oaks GC	35-39	74

	Ta		
10	Sean Clifford - Bruce Clifford, John F. Byrne GC	37-37	74
10	Bill Serody, John F. Byrne GC - Keith Evans, Running Deer CC	38-36	74
18	Bill Erskine - Stewart Clark, Walnut Lane GC	37-38	75
18	Jim Muehlbronner - Dave Chenard, Sandy Run CC	38-37	75
20	Mike Haney - Jeff Biggins, Horsham Valley GC	39-37	76
20	Greg Buliga, Makefield Highlands GC - Larry Wiacek, Five Ponds GC	39-37	76
20	Anthony Saltarelli - Joe Saltarelli, John F. Byrne GC	41-35	76
20	Norman Jester - Steve Gillmor, Downingtown GC	38-38	76
24	William Rolli - Dan Koffel, Hickory Valley GC	40-37	77
24	Bob Wheeler - John Feuerer, Juniata GC	39-38	77
24	John Jester, Commonwealth National GC - Joe Makowski, Unaffiliated	40-37	77
24	Art Caldwell, Atlantis GC - Chris Durham, Juniata GC	38-39	77
24	Manus Friel, Cobbs Creek GC - Russ Baribault, Unaffiliated	38-39	77
29	Tim McNerney - Bobby Stewart, Westover GC	39-39	78
29	Kevin Koch - Arnie Watkins, Linfield National GC	40-38	78
29	Jeff Shockley - Mark Major, Makefield Highlands GC	39-39	78
29	George Carr - Curt Oberparleiter, Wedgwood GC	38-40	78
29	Rob Howell, Dauphin Highlands GC - Rich Webber, Royal Oaks GC	39-39	78
29	Jim Conway - Bob Gaeta, FDR GC	41-37	78
29	Chic Palmer - Rob Martin, Rancocas GC	39-39	78
29	Ansley Jessup - Aaron Bracy, Rancocas GC	41-37	78
37	Joe Natale, Cobbs Creek GC - Jamie Shaeffer, Unaffiliated	41-38	79
37	Charles Ortlip - Scott Ruddy, Island Green GC	40-39	79
37	Joe Campisano - Pete Smith, Center Square GC	40-39	79
37	Naz Gagliardi - Matt Faust, Bensalem GC	40-39	79
37	Shawn Ross - George Bailey, Rancocas GC	38-41	79
37	Garry Valley - Tom Faro, John F. Byrne GC	42-37	79
37	Robert Kowalski, Linfield National GC - Jason Kowalski, Five Ponds GC	39-40	79
44	Curt Biehn, Unaffiliated - Gary Biehn, Medford Lakes GC	41-39	80
44	Chet Coupe - Jeff Carney, Pinecrest GC	40-40	80
44	Bob Davidson - Jeff Davidson, Cobbs Creek GC	41-39	80
44	Andrew Halle, Linfield National GC - Adam Smith, Gilbertsville GC	39-41	80
48	William Kelly, Cobbs Creek GC - Chris Christman, Hickory Valley GC	41-40	81
48	Bob Walsh - Dave Kramp, Unaffiliated	39-42	81
48	Mike Owsik - Jeff Owsik, Plymouth CC	40-41	81
51	Ted Nunez - Anise Ayoub, Cobbs Creek GC	39-43	82
51	Dave Herner - Ken Hayman, Kimberton GC	38-44	82
51	Brandon Grove - James Hing, Cobbs Creek GC	41-41	82
51	Bill Albertus, Penn Oaks GC - Mark Brennan, Cobbs Creek GC	39-43	82
51	Craig Comerford, Rancocas GC - Scott Sebring, Unaffiliated	40-42	82
56	Mike Dutill - Mike Schubert, Horsham Valley GC	45-39	84
56	Steve Owens, Sr., JC Melrose GC - John Owens, John F. Byrne GC	42-42	84
56	Jim McCairns, Cobbs Creek GC - Matt Boyer, Linfield National GC	42-42	84
59	Jerry Haas - Rick Barry, Cobbs Creek GC	42-43	85
59	Caesar Caramanico - Mike Harms, Cobbs Creek GC	42-43	85
59	William Foley - Michael Curry - John F. Byrne GC	45-40	85
62	Scott Heffentrager - Brian Smyth, Bella Vista GC	43-43	86
62	David Abraham, Meadowbrook GC - Frank Barone, Unaffiliated	42-44	86
62	Larry Bergman, JC Melrose GC - Chick Hoff, Commonwealth National GC	43-43	86
65	John Reusche - Matt Reusche, Unaffiliated	45-43	88
65	Pete Cannon - Mike Cannon, Unaffiliated	43-43	88
65	Will DeGothseir, Cobbs Creek GC - Andrew DeGothseir, Unaffiliated	46-42	88
		45-45	90
68	Rick Wineberg - Brian Fleming, Cobbs Creek GC	+	
69	Dave Tompkins - Joe Martin, Island Green GC	46-46	92