

14th Hole at Cobbs Creek GC

33rd Philadelphia Open Amateur Championship Results

Philadelphia, **PA -** Frank Rapone, Springhaven CC, overcame a three shot deficit in the final round to capture the 33rd annual Philadelphia Open Amateur Championship at the Cobbs Creek Golf Club. His two-day total of 1-under par was three shots behind Sean Clifford, Ashbourne CC, as the final round began. Rapone, who finished third the previous two years, used a final round 72 to cap his winning total of even par, 2 shots clear of Clifford and 4 ahead of two-time champion and 2005 Player of the Year, Jason Loehrs, Cobbs Creek GC.

Rapone's comeback began at the first with a par while Clifford opened with a double bobey. The two traded blows until the seventh hole, where Rapone claimed a share of the lead with a birdie at the par-5. Rapone took his first lead of the tournament with a par at the 440 yard par-4 12th as Clifford posted a bogey. He also added a birdie at the par-4 sixteenth before parring the last two to break through and win his first Philadelphia Open Amateur championship.

Loehrs, seeking his third Open Amateur championship, trailed the leaders by two at the turn. After a bogey at the tenth, consecutive birdies at the eleventh and twelfth closed the gap to one before a double bogey at the fifteenth ended his chances.

Frank Rapone, Springhaven CC	71-70-72	213
Sean Clifford, Ashbourne CC	69-69-77	215
Jason Loehrs, Cobbs Creek GC	72-70-75	217
Brian Fisher, Unaffiliated	70-77-72	219
Chris Fieger, Cobbs Creek GC	77-73-70	220
John Diamond, John F. Byrne GC	74-75-72	221
Mark Czerniakowski, Pinecrest GC	74-79-71	224
James Winner, Unaffiliated	75-77-73	225
Jim Durante, Cobbs Creek GC	77-77-76	230
Lance Oberparleiter, Wedgwood CC	76-74-81	231
Tim Haberbusch, Unaffiliated	73-77-82	232
Steve Moffatt, Unaffiliated	77-77-79	233
Ken Gaskill, Ramblewood GC	78-76-79	233
Brian Degnan, Springfield CC	72-82-83	237
	Sean Clifford, Ashbourne CC Jason Loehrs, Cobbs Creek GC Brian Fisher, Unaffiliated Chris Fieger, Cobbs Creek GC John Diamond, John F. Byrne GC Mark Czerniakowski, Pinecrest GC James Winner, Unaffiliated Jim Durante, Cobbs Creek GC Lance Oberparleiter, Wedgwood CC Tim Haberbusch, Unaffiliated Steve Moffatt, Unaffiliated Ken Gaskill, Ramblewood GC	Sean Clifford, Ashbourne CC69-69-77Jason Loehrs, Cobbs Creek GC72-70-75Brian Fisher, Unaffiliated70-77-72Chris Fieger, Cobbs Creek GC77-73-70John Diamond, John F. Byrne GC74-75-72Mark Czerniakowski, Pinecrest GC74-79-71James Winner, Unaffiliated75-77-73Jim Durante, Cobbs Creek GC77-77-76Lance Oberparleiter, Wedgwood CC76-74-81Tim Haberbusch, Unaffiliated73-77-79Steve Moffatt, Unaffiliated77-77-79Ken Gaskill, Ramblewood GC78-76-79

"Championship" Flight

"First" Flight

1	Matt Moroz, John F. Byrne GC	78-77-75	230
2	Matt Berkowitz, Cobbs Creek GC	79-79-73	231
3	Patrick Rugg, Rolling Green GC	78-79-75	232
4	Dan Diamond, John F. Byrne GC	83-75-77	235
4	Tom Guillebeau, Wilmington CC	78-81-76	235
4	Greg Buliga, Makefield Highlands GC	85-75-75	235
7	Joel McFadden, Linfield National GC	78-80-78	236
8	Mike Valentine, Spring Mill CC	79-81-77	237
9	Mike Wilhelm, Cobbs Creek GC	79-76-83	238
10	Joe Herner, Kimberton GC	79-80-81	240
10	Jeff Owsik, Plymouth CC	81-78-81	240
10	Ansley Jessup, Rancocas CC	81-78-81	240
13	Curt Oberparleiter, Wedgwood CC	80-79-87	246

"Second" Flight

r			
1	Geoffrey Blauvelt, Center Valley GC	79-83-74	236
2	Pat Sullivan, Meadowbrook GC	82-79-76	237
2	Jeff Moffatt, Five Ponds GC	79-83-75	237
4	John Colello, John F. Byrne GC	84-78-76	238
4	Bill Albertus, Penn Oaks GC	87-76-75	238
6	Dominic DiGiacobbe, Melrose CC	83-78-78	239
7	Dave Herner, Kimberton GC	85-78-78	241
7	Edward Lewis III, Unaffiliated	85-79-77	241
9	Caesar Caramanico, Cobbs Creek GC	82-81-79	242
10	Steve Minnick, Bala GC	85-78-80	243
11	David Abraham, FDR GC	81-82-84	247
11	Michael Kandravi, Unaffiliated	84-80-83	247
11	Basil Gilfillian, Running Deer GC	86-78-83	247
14	Mark Smith, Cobbs Creek GC	78-85-85	248
15	Jerry Davidse, General Washington GC	82-82-85	249
16	Ed Riordan, Spring Hollow GC	77-86-88	251

"Third" Flight

1	Chris McCool, FDR GC	81-85-81	247
2	Mike Sullivan, Willowbrook GC	83-84-83	250
2	Craig Comerford, Rancocas CC	88-85-77	250
4	Jack Scholz, Cobbs Creek GC	89-80-82	251
5	Bill Turner, Golden Pheasant GC	84-81-87	252
6	Keith Johnson, Rancocas CC	85-81-88	254
6	Andrew DeGothseir, Springfield CC	81-86-87	254
8	Rick Wineberg, Cobbs Creek GC	84-85-88	257
9	Michael Sherr, Rancocas CC	85-84-89	258
9	Bill Horan, Unaffiliated	86-85-87	258
11	Matt Cramer, Center Square GC	83-87-88	259
12	Jim Conway, FDR GC	89-84-94	267

"Fourth" Flight

1	Will DeGothseir, Cobbs Creek GC	84-90-85	259
2	Charlie Naspinski, Mountain Valley GC	89-85-86	260
3	David Owens, Melrose CC	90-89-84	263
4	Joe McCullough, Cobbs Creek GC	89-85-90	264
4	John O'Brien, FDR GC	85-91-88	264
6	Ted Nunez, Cobbs Creek GC	90-92-83	265
6	Bob Manfre, Cobbs Creek GC	95-89-81	265
8	Morris Jones, Unaffiliated	93-89-88	270
9	Paul Cechovic, Ramblewood GC	97-83-91	271
9	Matthew Hassness, Unaffiliated	93-89-89	271
11	Rick Ames, Cobbs Creek GC	84-103-86	273
12	Tim Degnan, Springfield CC	86-95-94	275
13	Bruce Doherty, Middletown GC	90-94-93	277
14	Jerry Haas, Cobbs Creek GC	96-100-84	280

Chris Heckman, Cobbs Creek GC	83-83	DNF
Matthew MacAllister, Philmont CC	90-83	WD
Fred Hartwell, Bensalem CC	86	DNS
Brandon Hollon, Architects GC	86	DNS
Dennis Starr, Unaffiliated	95	WD
Jim Hutchins, Cobbs Creek GC	96	WD
Bryan McClaskey, Merchantville, CC	78	WD
Larry Wiacek, Middletown GC		WD
Michael Meiswich, Penn Oaks GC		WD
Gordon Biddle, Willowbrook GC		DNS
Jim Austin, Middletown GC		WD
Peter Boylan, FDR GC		WD
William Erskine, Walnut Lane GC		WD
Andrew Carnevale, Unaffiliated		DNS
Mark Battista, Rancocas CC		WD
Chet Coupe, Pinecrest GC		WD
Glenn McClaskey, Cobbs Creek GC		WD
Andrew Laconi, Downingtown CC		DNS
Jerrold Clinton, Linfield National GC		WD
Matthew Mattia, Cobbs Creek GC		WD