

14th Hole at Cobbs Creek GC

## 32nd Philadelphia Open Amateur Championship Results

Philadelphia, PA - Jason Loehrs' 1-under par 71 in the second round was the the only under par round of the tournament and was good enough to propel him into the lead, a lead which he would never relinquish. The conditions at the Cobbs Creek Golf Club were difficult all week and Loehrs was able to fight off all challengers and outlast a field of 80 golfers in winning his second Philadelphia Open Amateur Championship on his home course. With his second title, Loehrs, also the 2000 champion, becomes the 5th multiple winner of this championship joining such accomplished Philadelphia area players as Chris Fieger (1981, 1992, 2001, 2004), Gary Hardin (1973, 1974), Mike Owsik (1984, 1993, 1999) Noel Caruso (1979, 1982, 1983) and Robert Housen (1975, 1976, 1977).

Philadelphia Publinks Player of the year Ken Gaskill, from Ramblewood GC, finished second, 2 shots behind Loehrs. Gaskill, the only player in the field to shoot in the 70's all four rounds and the second round co-leader with Loehrs, put together a late charge capped by birdies on the 71st and 72nd holes. But it wasn't enough to catch Loehrs who built an insurmountable lead by going out in 1-over par 38 on the demanding front nine.

Frank Rapone, from Springhaven CC and the 2003 3rd place finisher, was close to capturing his first championship and again finished third. Defending champion Anthony Saltarelli, from John F. Byrne GC, struggled in the final round to finish tied for fourth in a valiant title defense. Tied with Saltarelli for fourth with was Mark Czerniakowski form Pinecrest GC.

## "Championship" Flight

1	Jason Loehrs, Cobbs Creek GC	81-71-75-77	304
2	Ken Gaskill, Ramblewood GC	75-77-78-76	306
3	Frank Rapone, Springhaven CC	75-78-77-81	311
4	Anthony Saltarelli, John F. Byrne GC	73-80-75-88	316
4	Mark Czerniakowski, Pinecrest GC	82-76-75-83	316
6	Bruce Clifford, Bensalem CC	78-84-77-84	323
7	Bill Turner, Golden Pheasant GC	73-88-82-81	324
7	Ansley Jessup, Rancocas CC	80-80-84-80	324
7	Glen Schreiner, Mainland GC	79-83-85-77	324
10	John Diamond, John F. Byrne	79-82-83-82	326
11	Dave Shields, Cobbs Creek GC	80-87-80-83	330
11	Chet Coupe, Pinecrest GC	79-81-89-81	330
13	Patrick Rugg, Rolling Green GC	86-84-82-79	331
14	Dan Diamond, John F. Byrne	83-83-81-85	332
15	Dave Herner, Kimberton GC	80-88-79-87	334
16	Steve McIntyre, Unaffiliated	80-79-87-90	336

16	Michael Viscardi, Unaffiliated	81-83-87-85	336
18	Jack Scholz, Cobbs Creek GC	76-87-84-90	337
19	Larry Corbett, Unaffiliated	82-86-87-85	340
20	Bill Albertus, Unaffiliated	82-81-93-87	343
21	Mike Owsik, Jr., Plymouth CC	79-85-88-92	344
22	Bill Houston, FDR GC	84-81-91-91	347
23	Will DeGothseir, Cobbs Creek GC	86-84-91-97	358
24	Kevin Wimsey, John F. Byrne	91-77-93-101	362

## "First" Flight

1	Craig Comerford, Rancocas CC	89-85-86-87	347
2	Dave Ratigan, M-Golf	84-94-86-84	348
3	Pete Boylan, FDR GC	83-88-90-88	349
3	Anthony Mitchell, FDR GC	93-83-86-87	349
3	W.D. Horan, Unaffiliated	90-88-84-87	349
6	John Ho Kim, Cobbs Creek GC	88-92-82-89	351
7	Dave Cinque, Ramblewood GC	89-87-89-88	353
8	Chris McCool, FDR GC	92-80-96-87	355
9	Brian Sexton, Unaffiliated	87-87-85-99	358
10	Maurice Broadwater, Cobbs Creek GC	86-90-91-92	359
10	David Abraham, FDR GC	93-95-91-80	359
12	Matthew Cramer, Unaffiliated	88-94-87-91	360
13	Bill Casey, Unaffiliated	88-90-88-95	361
14	Ted Nunez, Cobbs Creek GC	100-87-87-88	362
15	Jeff Owsik, Plymouth CC	97-83-88-95	363
16	Pat Sullivan, Willowbrook GC	92-91-87-98	368
17	Jerry Haas, Cobbs Creek GC	96-95-89-91	371
18	Bruce Doherty, Middletown GC	92-92-91-97	372
19	Anthony Thompson, Bensalem CC	85-88-102-99	374
19	Bill Hagel, Kahuna GC	101-87-93-93	374
21	Joe Cassidy, FDR GC	93-98-95-89	375
22	Bob Manfre, Cobbs Creek GC	92-90-93-102	377
23	Mike Silvestri, FDR GC	98-93-103-94	388
24	Ed Gildar, Cobbs Creek GC	95-93-97-105	390

William Viva, Cent	er Square GC	80-85-89	DNF
Eric Weed, Unaffili	ated	83-82-93	DNS
Chris Heckman, Co	obbs Creek GC	84-83-104	DNS
Michael Dutill, Hors	sham Valley GC	84-85-83	WD
Barry Durkan, Johr	n F. Byrne GC	90-91-99	DNS
Michael Logue, Un	affiliated	90-97-102	DNS
Lance Oberparleite	er, Wedgewood GC	81-84	NC
Joe Herner, Kimbe	rton GC	81-81	WD
Pete Agler, Unaffili	ated	86-88	DNS
Mike DiPietro, Cob	bs Creek GC	97-83	DNS
Damian Anzaldo, C	Cobbs Creek GC	91-95	DNS
Jack Carini, Runnii	ng Deer GC	92-98	DNS
Johnny O'Brien, FI	OR GC	97-95	MC
Andrew DeGothsie	r, Cobbs Creek GC	89-105	MC
Ed Mitchell, Cobbs	Creek GC	109-89	MC
Dick Coyne, FDR (	GC .	100-101	MC
Glenn Brooker, CS	C	136-136	MC

Mike Wilhelm, Cobbs Creek GC	83-83	WD
Bob Oliver, Bensalem CC	89-98	WD
Dave Owens, Melrose CC	89-93	WD
Charles Naspinski, Hidden Valley GC	87-86	WD
Alan Cole, Makefield Highlands GC	88	WD
Joe Kohler, Cobbs Creek GC	90	WD
Peter Jenkins, Juniata GC	104	WD
Fred Hartwell, Bensalem CC	95	NC
Mike Haney, Horsham Valley GC	79	DNF
Matt Shevlin, Llanerch GC	88	DQ
Michael Gerhardt, Springfield CC	90	DQ
Sean Clifford, John F. Byrne	-	WD
Haston Thorton, Unaffiliated	-	WD
Caesar Caramanico, Cobbs Creek GC	-	DNS
Rick Wineberg, M-Golf	-	DNF