

14th Hole at Cobbs Creek GC

2011 PPGA Middle Amateur Championship Results

Phoenixville, PA - Jason Loehrs captured the 2011 PPGA Mid-Amateur Championship at Kimberton GC with 4-under par round of 66. For Loehrs, it was his first time back in the winner's circle since taking the Philadelphia Open Amateur Championship in 2004. With the win Loehrs also clinched a berth on the PPGA team which will take on a team from the Baltimore Municipal Golf Association in the inaugural "Atlantic Publinks Challenge" to be played Sunday, October 2nd at Pine Ridge GC in Lutherville, MD.

After pars on the first five holes, Loehrs bogeyed the 176 yard, par-3 sixth. That would be the last blemish on Loehrs's card. The putter got hot and Loehrs posted birdies on five of the last eleven holes to finish at 4-under par and capture the championship by two strokes.

Scott McNeil started the day attempting to accomplish something that has never been done in the history of the PPGA. After winning the first two individual events of the season, McNeil needed to win the Mid-Am to become the first player to win all individual championships in a season. McNeil got off fast and posted eight birdies in his round. Unfortunately, McNeil added two bogies and two double bogies for a round of 2-under par 68. For three hours, McNeil's round stayed atop the leaderboard and it appeared as though his round would be good enough until Loehrs finished his round.

The other sub-par round of the tournament was by Dave Fardon. Fardon, the caddiemaster at Saucon Valley CC, found himself at 3-over par for his round after fourteen holes. But birdies on his final four holes got the round under par and was good enough for a solo-third finish.

2010 PPGA Player of the Year, Mike Brown posted a round of even-par to tie Walt Humphries for fourth place in the championship.

Defending Champion Shawn Lavin got off to a slow start in his title defense and never recovered, finishing tied for 51st.

Tony Carroll captured the Net Division and John Valentino, Sr., finished runner-up. Nate Oxman placed third and Jay Davidson and WD Horan rounded out the top five.



2011 PPGA Mid-Amateur Champion, Jason Loehrs

Middle Amateur Championship

1	Jason Loehrs, Cobbs Creek GC	34-32	66
2	Scott McNeil, Cobbs Creek	34-34	68
3	Dave Fardon, Saucon Valley CC	36-33	69
4	Walt Humphries, Linfield National GC	35-35	70
4	Mike Brown, Lookaway GC	35-35	70
6	Joe Costanzo, Five Ponds GC	35-36	71
6	Andy Faust, Kimberton GC	35-36	71
6	Chris Thude, Torresdale-Frankford CC	35-36	71
9	Steve Owens, Jr., John F. Byrne GC	36-36	72
10	Mike Meiswich, Penn Oaks CC	35-38	73
10	Bill Cregar, Wedgwood GC	35-38	73
10	Phil Juhring, FDR GC	36-37	73
10	Michael Rose, Meadowlands CC	37-36	73
10	Mike Carr, Plymouth CC	37-36	73
10	Tony Carroll, Unaffiliated	35-38	73
16	Chris Hunger, Wedgwood GC	37-37	74
16	Ken Gaskill, Ramblewood GC	36-38	74
16	Dan Gnias, Meadow Brook GC	36-38	74
16	Luis Diaz, Rancocas GC	39-35	74
16	Buck Jones, Blue Bell CC	36-38	74
16	Richard Umani, Honeybrook GC	37-37	74
16	Jim Prendergast, PPGA	38-36	74
16	David Shields, Walnut Lane GC	38-36	74
16	Jim Gillespie, Wedgwood GC	36-38	74
25	Todd Cappelli, Unaffiliated	35-40	75
25	Sean Lenhart, Unaffiliated	36-39	75
25	Tim Anderson, Wilkes-Barre Municipal GC	39-36	75
25	Tim McNerney, Westover GC	34-41	75
25	Jack Scholz, Cobbs Creek GC	39-36	75
25	Phil Cillo, Little Mill CC	37-38	75
31	Jim Conway, FDR GC	36-40	76
31	Mike Harms, Cobbs Creek GC	37-39	76
33	Joe Herner, Kimberton GC	37-40	77

33	Kevin Frost, Unaffiliated	36-41	77	
33	Mike Owsik, M Golf	37-40	77	
36	Andrew Rumble, Unaffiliated	39-39	78	
36	Jeff Paige, Bellewood GC	38-40	78	
36	William Erskine, Walnut Lane GC	40-38	78	
36	Jay Davidson, Rancocas GC	39-39	78	
36	Derek Isbrandt, Arogolf	39-39	78	
36	Naz Gagliardi, Bensalem CC	38-40	78	
42	Ken Hayman, Kimberton GC	40-39	79	
42	Fred Hartwell, Ramblewood GC	36-43	79	
42	David DiValentino, Five Ponds GC	37-42	79	
42	Bill Turner, Cobbs Creek GC	41-38	79	
42	Tom Mallouk, Lookaway GC	38-41	79	
47	Mike Dutill, Horsham Valley GC	39-41	80	
47	CJ Bell, Unaffiliated	42-38	80	
49	Glen Schreiner, The Club @ Patriot's Glen	40-41	81	
49	Bob Britton, Hickory Valley GC	40-41	81	
51	Bruce Macartney, Center Square GC	41-41	82	
51	Bill Kelly, Unaffiliated	37-45	82	
51	Bill Rolli, Lederach GC	41-41	82	
51	Rick Wright, Cobbs Creek GC	41-41	82	
51	Dan Falcone, PPGA	41-41	82	
51	Shawn Lavin, Unaffiliated	43-39	82	
57	WD Horan, Middletown GC	39-44	83	
57	Tom Faro, John F. Byrne GC	42-41	83	
59	Mike Millar, Cobbs Creek GC	42-42	84	
59	Chris McCool, Unaffiliated	43-41	84	
59	Curt Oberparleiter, Little Mill CC	41-43	84	
59	Ansley Jessup, Rancocas GC	44-40	84	
63	Mike Krantz, PPGA	38-47	85	
64	Anthony Randazzo, Unaffiliated	44-44	88	
	Kyle Heller, Unaffiliated		DNS	
	Todd Joseph, Unaffiliated		NC	



2011 Net Division Champion, Tony Carroll

"NET" Division

1	Tony Carroll, Unaffiliated	35-38	73	5.3	67.7
2	John DiValentino, Sr., Five Ponds GC	40-37	77	6.1	70.9
3	Nate Oxman, Unaffiliated	41-41	82	11	71
4	Jay Davidson, Rancocas GC	39-39	78	6.1	71.9
5	WD Horan, Middletown GC	39-44	83	8.9	74.1
6	David DiValentino, Sr., Five Ponds GC	37-42	79	4.8	74.2
6	Dan Falcone, PPGA	41-41	82	7.8	74.2
8	Will DeGothsier, Cobbs Creek GC	39-41	80	5.7	74.3
8	Lee Johnson, Jr., Downingtown CC	41-42	83	8.7	74.3
10	Ken Hayman, Kimberton GC	40-39	79	4.6	74.4
11	Tom Mallouk, Lookaway GC	38-41	79	3.4	75.6
12	Rick Ames, PPGA	46-40	86	9.2	76.8
13	Ted Nunez, Cobbs Creek GC	41-44	85	8.1	76.9
14	Tom Faro, John F. Byrne GC	42-41	83	6	77
15	Kurt Linneman, Meadow Brook GC	45-44	89	11.6	77.4
16	John DiValentino Jr, Five Ponds GC	43-42	85	7.5	77.5
17	Joseph Riccardi, Unaffiliated	43-44	87	9	78
18	Bill Kelly, Unaffiliated	37-45	82	3	79
19	Nate Tolvaisa, Unaffiliated	45-50	95	15.8	79.2
20	Bret Wade, Meadow Brook GC	43-46	89	9.5	79.5
21	Ken Curtis, Paxon Hollow GC	47-44	91	11.4	79.6
22	Mike Krantz, PPGA	38-47	85	4.3	80.7
23	Jeff Kallberg, PPGA	45-47	92	7.6	84.4